top of page

The Canary Islands and the Chakras


A group of experts under the name of Project Harwitum argues that the underwater volcano of El Hierro, named Tagoro, has realigned the chakras of the Canary Islands. The eruptive process (2012) has triggered the "restoration" of the energy centers, taking into account the traditions of India and China. For these chakra-based researchers, the base is found on the Meridian islands because the volcanic energy currently possessed by the islands helps to give impetus to the activation of the energy centers.

"The power of the Canary Islands volcanoes lies in the anchorage of intrasphere with all the volcanoes of the world," says Matías De Stefano @Project Harwitum.

There are 7 main chakras - plus many minor ones - within our body (Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, Crown) and 7 main islands - plus many smaller ones - on the Canaries (El Hierro, La Palma, La Gomera, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote). Each island is connected to one of the chakras.

The Canary Islands (in Spanish: Islas Canarias) are a chain of volcanic ocean islands and an autonomous community of Spain located 100km off North Africa's west coast (Western Sahara and Morocco). The 7 main islands are (from largest to smallest in area) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, and El Hierro.

The Canary Islands are the most southerly region of Spain. Historically the islands have been considered the bridge between three continents: Africa, America, and Europe.

The name Islas Canarias is likely derived from the Latin name Canariae Insulae, meaning "Islands of the Dogs". Here's a list of speculations why:

  1. The name was applied only to Gran Canaria because it contained "vast multitudes of dogs of very large size"

  2. The so-called dogs were actually a species of monk seal (= "sea dog"), critically endangered and no longer present in the Canary Islands

  3. The original inhabitants of the island, Guanches, used to worship dogs, mummified them and treated dogs as holy animals. The ancient Greeks also knew about people, living far to the west on an island, who are the "dog-headed ones"

The dog story is extremely interesting to me as my Chinese horoscope is Dog and this is the Dog's year (2018). Furthermore, the reiki master I have seen recently told me that I am a star child probably from Sirius which is nicknamed the "Dog Star". And at the same time when I started to put together the "7 islands 7 chakras" book Wes Anderson's new movie "Isle of Dogs" was showing in cinemas. Of course, I went to watch it.

Now let's get back to the islands:

The Canary Islands have been identified as remnants of Atlantis by numerous authors. Platón wrote that the capital of Atlantis was built from red, black and white coloured stone blocks which three colours are found on Tenerife's volcanic landscape. According to Greek mythology Atlantis was a large island in the Atlantic Ocean which lay in front of the mouth of the pillars of Heracles (strait of Gibraltar). Their inhabitants became a spiritually ugly race and for that reason Zeus and the gods destroyed them by letting the island be swallowed up by the sea.

Norwegian researcher, Thor Heyerdahl, believes that the group of islands grew above sea level from the land that sank to the bottom of the ocean and the Guanches (the original inhabitants of the island) are the descendants of the Atlantisians. However, there is no clear evidence that proves Heyerdahl's theory on the connection between the Canary Islands and Atlantis.


Chakra is an old Sanskrit word that literally translates to wheel. This is because the life force, or prana, that moves inside of us is spinning and rotating. This spinning energy has 7 centers in our body, starting at the base of the spine and moving all the way up to the top of the head. In a healthy, balanced person, the 7 chakras provide exactly the right amount of energy to every part of the body, mind and spirit. However, if one of the chakras is too open and spinning too quickly, or if it is too closed and moving slowly, our health will suffer. By learning about the 7 chakras, we can become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of our bodies. We can use this information to connect physical, emotional and spiritual imbalances with the chakras that empower them. Of course, with these discoveries, we can begin to balance our chakras and live a healthy and harmonious life.

Chakras are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions (emotion = energy in motion). We can commonly count 7 chakras positioned throughout our body, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, which is depicted through a specific chakra colour, and governs specific functions that help make us, well, human.

How does a chakra work?

Energy flows through the chakra system in two ways. First, it flows up and down along the central channel, connecting the chakras. Second, it flows horizontally, in an exchange of energy with the cosmos.

A chakra may be a wheel or a vortex, but it operates like a ball of energy interpenetrating the physical body. The chakras themselves are not physical; you can't see them on an X-ray. They are aspects of consciousness, and they interact with the physical and energetic body through two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Each of the seven chakras is associated with one of the nine endocrine glands, and also with a particular group of nerves, called the plexus, making them important elements in healing. Thus, each chakra corresponds with particular parts of the body and particular functions within the body controlled by that plexus or that endocrine gland, which is the key to understanding how chakra healing methods work.

There are 7 major chakras, plus many minor ones. Blocked energy in our 7 chakras can often lead to illness. Unblocking chakras, in concert with other techniques, often provides a great deal of emotional healing and spiritual healing, and prevents physical disease, too. Energy healing can help to open chakras and return the physical and energetic systems to better health.

In the following 8 blog posts, I will share more information and my personal experience on each island starting with El Hierro which is the Root Chakra island.

Hope you'll enjoy them!

Until next time! ♡

bottom of page